2nd to last hand situation - Elimination Blackjack

Discussion in 'Blackjack Tournament Strategy' started by djcolts, Sep 6, 2006.

1. djcolts

djcolts New Member

I'm a newbie to tournament blackjack - and I played a few SNGs yesterday at Ultimate Bet.

The last one I played last night - there were two players left, and I had to bet first on the 29th hand (out of 30 hands). I had about 65K chips, the opponent had 61K chips. Both of us have our secret bets left.

With 25K as the max bet - what should I do? How much should I bet, and should I use the secret bet here?

2. UTVolfan

UTVolfan New Member

In my opinion, one of the toughest decisions in tournament blackjack is deciding what to bet when you're ahead, but have to bet first.

I think the best move in that situation is to bet 5K. This is as much as you can bet without giving up the low. If you bet too much, your opponent can take the low from you. By betting 5000, you force him to have to bet at least 10000 to take the high over you. If he bets minimum, you can surrender back the lead. If he does take the high, and you both lose, you've increased your lead by at least another 5000. If you swing him, you're more than 1/2 max bet ahead. But even if he somehow takes the lead in that hand, he has to act ahead of you on the last hand, so you should have opportunities to take it back.

3. ptaylorcpa

ptaylorcpa Member

Good answer