Can you make a living playing online Tournament Blackjack?

Discussion in 'Sidewalk Cafe' started by Reachy, Jul 15, 2006.

1. Reachy

Reachy New Member

Answer: In theory yes. In reality, with difficulty!
    OK, I am still an utter newbie to this TBJ game and the following is almost all hypothetical. The assumptions made are based on my very limited and not statistically significant experiences so far. The purpose of this post is to stimulate discussion and I acknowledge that you could probably drive a good old-fashioned London double decker bus through most of my theorising. Please show me the holes!

Well here goes…

I’m always hearing about people who have given up their jobs to play online poker and make a living that way. Whether or not there are hoards of “professional” online poker players I guess I’ll never really know but it got me thinking about whether it was possible to become a “professional” online tournament BJ player.

Before I say anything else I will acknowledge that it’s not an in-depth analysis, more of a pilot study if you like, to give an idea of what might be required to earn money at online tournament blackjack (OTBJ from now on). I am not that familiar with working with concepts such as risk of ruin and have come up with my own ideas on how to deal with that sort of analysis but I acknowledge that a more scientific approach would be required for a proper study. I’m doing this really to find out what the more knowledgeable and experienced players amongst you think. Has this idea got any legs?

The premise: That you can make a living playing Sit and Go OTBJ

So what constitutes a living? Difficult to say as it depends on many factors. I chose $3000 per month which in the UK would probably give most people a very modest lifestyle. Not sure what $3000 would get you a month in the States but probably more than in the UK.

The games I studied are the 5 seat S&G run by Global Player at both the $30+2 & £50+3

Assumptions