Deliberately walking into a Surrender Trap

Discussion in 'Blackjack Tournament Strategy' started by London Colin, May 22, 2009.

1. London Colin

London Colin Top Member

I recently played a final hand which worked out well for me, but in which my strategy may have been a bit suspect. I'm not sure if it was an act of genius or idiocy. :) I'd appreciate any thoughts ....

Two players.
    min bet: 100
    max bet: 1000
    no doubling for less

BR1: 1888, bets 944
    BR2 (me): 1045

BR1 was not a tournament expert, but not a total novice either. It seemed clear that the bet was chosen simply as half the BR, rather than an attempt to lay a surrender trap, but there was still the likelihood that if I bet 100 the possibility of surrender might become obvious to BR1.

I bet 200 on the basis that I would surrender if BR1 did not, and I would double down on any hand if BR1 did surrender. ( BR1's surrender total is 1416, and I could dd to 1445.)

Was my bet a good one or would it still have been better to bet big and play for a swing?

As it happened, the cards were dealt as follows -
    dealer: 2
    BR1: 2,T
    BR2: 7,3

The fact that I had a BS double down hand possibly helped prevent BR1 from surrendering, so I was able to take back the low and the dealer helpfully did not bust.

2. Monkeysystem

Monkeysystem Top Member Staff Member

Play For the Swing

You took too big a chance of being locked out. Even a non-expert player might figure it out. You were lucky to get the strong double down hand you did.

A bet like yours would've been much more effective as a secret bet.

3. masonuc

masonuc New Member