How To Host a Blackjack Tournament (Please Help)...

Discussion in 'Blackjack Tournament Strategy' started by Nugzy, Apr 6, 2005.

1. Nugzy

Nugzy New Member

Im new to Blackjack tournaments. I recently saw one on television and it really sparked my interest. Ive been searching everywhere for a good tournament site and finally found this one!

Im interested in hosting a blackjack tournament this weekend with the guys instead of the traditional poker game. Can anyone tell me the rules and how the tournament is structured? Or can you point me to a link to a site that can? I want the tournament to last about 1-2 hours, so whats a good set amount of hands to play? (I want to do set amount of hands versus time limit because we take alot of breaks to bullshit and get drinks.)

Also, could someone point me in the direction of a blackjack strategy sheet/card? I want to supply one to everyone who plays so they can make the "correct" play.

Thanks in advance for any help.

2. mikeaber

mikeaber New Member

Basic Strategy

http://www.wizardofodds.com/ under Blackjack will get you all the strategy cards you need for any version of BJ you want to play.

I might make a suggestion though....why not have several "tournaments" of 25 hands? That way, your friends who loose out early can get into the next one rather than just "hang around" while those remaining finish?

3. Nugzy

Nugzy New Member

How do I play a tournament? What are the rules? How is it played? What is the proper amount of chips to start with? What do the minimum bets start at? How often do they go up? What do they go up to?

4. mikeaber

mikeaber New Member

Home Blackjack

First of all, let me emphasis that there are a LOT of heavy tournament players on this board far more knowledgable than I. I beg comment on the parameters that I'm stating here in this message as I've only done this in practice.