Hybrid

Discussion in 'Blackjack Tournament Strategy' started by Kennys30, Feb 1, 2013.

1. Kennys30

Kennys30 New Member

I'm kinda new to tournaments. What is hybrid?

2. hopinglarry

hopinglarry Top Member

A hybrid tournament will have a mixture of advancement from one round to the next by either winning (or being in the top 2 or 3) or some number of advancers based on total chip count across the whole field of player (maybe the top 30 or 40 chip totals as examples).

A hybrid tournament can have advancers be a table winner plus X number of people across the field who had the highest chip totals without being a table winner.

Their are just multiple types of combinations that can be used to determine advancers from one round to the next.

3. hopinglarry

hopinglarry Top Member

I looked at my response and it didn't look good.

Most tournaments have 3, 4 or 5 rounds. There can be multiple sessions within a round. As far as I know all tournaments are elimination tournaments, otherwise it would be just a one round tournament

Advancing from one round to the next is normally determined by table winner(s) format where either the 1st, 2nd or 3rd (number advancing varies by tournament or round) highest chip total at the table advance to the next round. Overall this is probably the most common format.

Accumulation tournaments advance people from one round to the next based on the X number(depends on the tournament) of highest chip totals across the field. The chip accumulation will continue for subsequent rounds after the X is determined. In other words, the Xs chips will be their starting chip totals for the next round.

A hybrid is some combination of the two above. It does not fit either of the above situations.