Last hand boo-boo!

Discussion in 'Blackjack Tournament Strategy' started by Reachy, Sep 7, 2007.

1. Reachy

Reachy New Member

Not having played for a few months I feel like a complete newbie again hence my post here. I almost forgot basic strategy as well!!!! Need to re-read CTS... anyway.....

Last hand poser from last night at blackjack21.com. I got a bit rattled over there because I forgot that they only have a 20 second timer and I got timed out on a crucial hand. It didn't matter though as I still won the table but it made me a little "panicky" later on for other crucial decisions, not least the following example.

Last hand, final table. 1st place $154, 2nd $66, 3rd and 4th nada.

BR1 -5,188.00 Bet - 100.00
    BR4 - 4,600.00 Bet - 1,000.00
    BR3 - 4,700.00 Bet - 1,000.00
    BR2 - 4,750.00 Bet - 540.00

I'm BR3. BR1 obviously just opted for the low road and let the dealer do all the work (which incidentally he was, busting all the time and giving out BJs all over the shop). BR4 bets max, no suprise, I decide to correlate to give me the high knowing that BR2 could cover me whatever. BR2 decides to go for 540 which suprises me since he could also corrolate and have 1st high 2nd low, instead he has 3rd high 2nd low.

BR1 -BJ
    BR4 - 15
    BR3 - 15
    BR2 - Soft 16
    Dealer 3

BR1 doubles, I guess because that could beat a single bet win from BR2, and gets a 5 for 16. BR4 stands. Now this is where I have a brainfart and..., well, I won't tell you yet what I did until I get some feedback! What should BR3 do in this situation?

Cheers

Reachy

2. Monkeysystem

Monkeysystem Top Member Staff Member

Stand

BR1 doubling his BJ made no sense. His BJ had BR2 covered and his double down win didn't cover anything that his BJ didn't.

With these payouts you should play this as if there were only one winner.

If you stand and the dealer breaks, you're the winner. 38%.