nebie strategy questions

Discussion in 'Blackjack Tournament Strategy' started by david, Mar 17, 2006.

1. david

david New Member

im new to blackjack counting and tourneys my first tourney is wed just a local place. Ive ordered wongs book but it wont get here for a couple of weeks so here is the question what are the basics of wongs betting and play startegy? help before the tourney would be appreciated greatly, ive also read blackjack by jerry patterson and all the resources between this site and blackjack info i know basic for my set of rules cold and can count the deck down in about twenty five secs or so.

Desperate for knowledge

2. TXtourplayer

TXtourplayer Executive Member

To count or not to count....

Actually David in tournament play counting can be a killer!

Your playing short term in tournament play, 20 hands or so only. It is not like on the regular tables where you can lose on a high count and buy back in. That is why most players take it slower in the beginning and see how the cards are coming and more importantly how the other players are doing.

Remember tournament play your playing against the other players not just the dealer. Hell as long as your the chip leader you don't care if the dealer beats you or not, (unless it is a "LIVE" money tournament).

3. swog

swog Elite Member Staff Member

Newbie Strategy

Welcome David,
    Tx. is correct about counting. At first I would disregard that aspect of the game. You need to be able to count the other players' chips with accuracy, so if you have glasses, bring them. Bet small at first to see how the others are betting. If you're ahead bet like they bet, if you're behind bet opposite to them, (bet big if they bet small, bet small if they bet big). Basic strategy goes out the window near the end of the round. You do what you need to do based on the other players' chip stacks and cards. Go to Ken's other site http://www.blackjackinfo.com/blackjack-tournaments.php.