New to strategy + theory

Discussion in 'Blackjack Tournament Strategy' started by Twanbon, Oct 29, 2007.

1. Twanbon

Twanbon New Member

Hi all,
    I've been playing blackjack tourneys on UB to some success for a few months now, but I never thought to see if a site like this existed. I'm interested in delving deeper into theory, I have a degree in mathematics, so concepts of probability and EV are not beyond me. I was wondering what some good resources for pre-calculated probabilities might be? I could try to come up with them on my own, but if there are lists already out there, it would be helpful.

Also, I want to get your opinion on a situation that came up at a SNG the other day for me. 1st place wins $98, 2nd wins $42. 2 of us left.

I have $71500
    Opponent has $45500

$500 min bet.
    $25000 max bet.

So, do I min bet and hope he can't double/split/bj, or do I bet higher to cover him doubling, and hope for no swing?

And if you feel like I'm too new and just want to point me to a chart or another forum, don't feel bad, I don't mean to dumb down the conversation in here, but I do feel like I could be an asset down the line!

2. KenSmith

KenSmith Administrator Staff Member

$20,000 is the bet here. Give up the possible swing in exchange for covering the double or split. A successful double or split is much more likely than a swing.

As for probabilities, there are two useful tables over at my other site BlackjackInfo.com, which show dealer outcome probabilities and double-down outcome probabilities. I keep talking about adding a table with a lot of probabilities for player hand probabilities using different strategies, but I haven't done it yet.

The tournament strategy section of that site is here:
    http://www.blackjackinfo.com/blackjack-tournaments.php

Welcome to our world, and best of luck, -Ken-

3. swog

swog Elite Member Staff Member

Last edited by a moderator: Oct 30, 2007
  4. Twanbon

Twanbon New Member