No limit BJ Tournament

Discussion in 'Blackjack Tournament Strategy' started by dockoz, May 6, 2008.

1. dockoz

dockoz New Member

I am new to tournament blackjack and have read Ken Smith's Blackjack Tournament book. I've played some online tournaments to get some feel. I will be playing in an elimination tournament next week that has a no limit max bet. How do you adjust betting stragies with a no limit max bet?

2. KenSmith

KenSmith Administrator Staff Member

Sorry this message seems to have been overlooked. I'm sure your event is long completed by now.

No-limit events have some unique concerns, but many of the same basics still apply. You do have to replace any thinking of 'half-max-bet' leads with 'half-bankroll' leads.

Patience is still a good thing, as you are rarely more than 2 bets out of contention. Of course on the occasions when that doesn't hold true, you can really be in trouble! Still, players tend to bet most or all their bankroll at the end, so even if you are badly outpaced with chips you can sometimes get a low at the end.

Anyone else want to weigh in with advice on no-limit events?

3. LeftNut

LeftNut Top Member

Perhaps I can help with this one, since No-Limit is how Winstar's tournament works and I did OK there.

Ken, as usual, is right. Trying to maintain a lead of half max bet plus a chip is no longer a consideration because there is no max bet. You want to have a lead of half your target opponent's entire bankroll plus at least one chip on the final hand - and that can be mighty tricky to maintain. Actually, at Winstar because of the 2 - 1 payoff for a natural, that 1 1/2x + at least one chip figure is good but 1 2/3x plus at least one chip is even better just in case he/she is an incredibly lucky S.O.B. and pulls a natural on the last hand. For example, here's the 150% + one chip situation:

Luckbox $1000 bets $1,000
    You $1525 bets $500