Qualifing Round Strategy

Discussion in 'Blackjack Tournament Strategy' started by rookie789, Nov 24, 2004.

1. rookie789

rookie789 Active Member

I am new to tournament play having played in only 3 the last a small tournament in Reno last week, qualifing was unusual; every 15 minutes from 1 to 6 PM with the top 5 money winners plus wild card making the final table, a leader board was posted showing the current top 5. I played with 3 qualifing rounds left to play, on the last hand if I bet 100 and win I'm in 4th if I lose I'm in 5th, if I bet 500 and win I'm in 3rd but a lose would eliminate me, I bet 100 and won but 2 players in the last round knocked me out. I would appreciate any more experienced players analyzing my betting strategy on the final hand. Thanks

2. TXtourplayer

TXtourplayer Executive Member

You did right

I think I would have played it the same way you did. By playing smart you give your self two chances to get in the finals High or Low. The other two players did what they had to do to beat you. If they both would have lost you would be in, but if you bet more and lose your out with no chance to advance. I think your play was good you just needed more luck on your side.

Hind sight is a killer in tournament play, don't let the woulda, coulda, shoulda, thoughts get you down. That stuff happens in every tournament to someone.

How did your last hand playout? Did you lose and go to 5th or win and go to 4th? With your question I am assuming you won.

3. rookie789

rookie789 Active Member

Thanks TXtourplayer

Yes I did win the final hand and was in 4th place with a max of 12 players to knock me out of the finals, i made it through the 1st six players still in 4th place but 2 players in the final qualifing round moved me out. I appreciate you're response, I am entered in Ken's Global-Player tournament and look forward to butting heads with you Pro's. Thanks again

4. KenSmith

KenSmith Administrator Staff Member

Depends on the totals