What Should I Be Aiming For?

Discussion in 'Blackjack Tournament Strategy' started by Capital_D, Oct 15, 2004.

1. Capital_D

Capital_D New Member

Tournament newbie here with a quick question. I'm entered in a tournament where there are 150 players and 50 of those players progress to the semifinals. You aren't playing against your own table in the perliminary round, you're playing against the entire field, blind. Based on your experience, and given $1000 in starting chips and only 20 hands to play, what size stack do you think would progress to the semifinal?

Thanks for your input.

--

Capital_D

2. TXtourplayer

TXtourplayer Executive Member

Shoot for....

With 150 players I would shoot to triple your money (3,000) that should put you in the top 1/3 of the pack. If you should get a run going I wouldn't push it passed $3,500 - 4,000 (Why, you don't need to). All you want is to make the top 1/3 to make the semi's. Try to play in a later round, that way you can watch the first round to gauge the total to shoot for.

Don't be shy betting, the chips are gone either way after your round. Go for it you will either make it or bust out trying (exception if the early rounds have low totals, then you can slow it down in your round).

Good luck, let us know how you do.

3. KenSmith

KenSmith Administrator Staff Member

I say double is enough

I'll have to mildly disagree with Tx here. Tripling your money when 1/3 of the field advances is overkill. I'd venture a guess and say that doubling it should suffice. My official over/under for the cutoff is $1800.

Please post after the event, and let us know.

4. Walt

Walt New Member

Wong

If I remember correctly, Wong's formula is sqrt of 150/50 x BR. In this case, the magic number is 1733. Depending on the field, it may be considerably lower than that. I'll guess that 1500 will do. I once played in a format where half advanced and the original BR made the cut (lucky for me).

5. Capital_D

Capital_D New Member

We'll See...