who tells the truth? (riddle)

Discussion in 'Sidewalk Cafe' started by sweet william, Jan 22, 2010.

1. sweet william

sweet william Member

a traveler on a lonely road in a foreign land comes to an intersection where stands two men, one of these men is a truthful man,cannot tell a lie. the other man is a liar must lie, cannot tell the truth.

traveler wants to know which way to town, what is the one question that can be asked to know what is the right way?

(the two men look alike,no way to tell who is liar or truthful by looks) (hint! double negative)

Last edited: Jan 23, 2010
  2. London Colin

London Colin Top Member

I know this one

Believe it or not, when I was a student we had a whole course, entitled 'Problem Solving', that largely featured classic puzzles of this kind. So I'll have to recuse myself from this one. :)

I would just add that when I learned the answer, being a bit of a pedant, it seemed to me there were a couple of pieces of information missing from the question ...

1. The guardians of the intersection both know everything about the situation, as you have described it.
    2. They also both genuinely do know the way to town. :)

3. Monkeysystem

Monkeysystem Top Member Staff Member

Which is Which?

Do we know which is the liar and which tells the truth? Because if we did this is a no brainer. :confused:

However, if we don't know which is the liar and which is the truth teller this is a more interesting puzzle. :D

4. London Colin

London Colin Top Member

Not only do we not know who's who, but we only get to ask one of the guardians our question. (In case you thought it was a case of comparing their responses.)

I suppose there ought to be a further rule stated: that the liar can't be evasive in his answer. Otherwise, he could fulfill his 'never tells the truth' remit, in response to most questions, with a simple 'I don't know'. :)

5. sweet william

sweet william Member